Rose Lemonade

Bitter becomes beauty again…

Introducing… February 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — RoseLemonade @ 10:04 am

The *almost* newest addition to our family!

Meet Joshua Rhome

(it’s not like you didn’t see his picture already if you read my previous post but it’s the only one we have):

We’ve been praying about this little guy for awhile now (well, as long as they give you in domestic adoption cases!) and we decided that we want to move forward.  We had to first wait for approval of us with his representatives, and then we had to make the decision on our end once they felt comfortable with us.  It was a crazy but very enjoyable process and we are so excited about him coming home sometime during March, or potentially very late February.  It will depend on how well we feel he is adjusting to us, our home and the concept of leaving his wonderful foster home he’s in now.

Keep us in prayer for the next few weeks – we have a big meeting on the 09th where we can ask all our questions, sign some documents, etc.  And then on the 15th, we will get to meet him for the first time. We’re hoping to get tons of meetings in before we get to take him home to ensure he’s as well adjusted as possible.

I’m a little nervous, as I’m a planner and love to have everything organized and now it looks like we’ll only have a couple of weeks to get everything ready and get all I need lined up (although this is pretty normal for domestic adoption).  We had painted his room a few weeks ago, but being the ridiculous person I am I decided that I think I want  a different color (I can never paint a room less than twice).  Yesterday we put some shelving in his closet and pulled some of my childhood books down from the attic (although you’ll have to wish me luck reading “the secret garden” and “Anne of green gables” to him!  Haha… perhaps we’ll work on expanding our collection).

Thanks for following along with us, keeping us in prayer and we look forward to updating you as things move forward.

A few facts about him:

He just recently turned two years old

He is super personable and loves to interact with everyone he meets

His favorite toys are things he can build with

He LOVES to eat and it not a picky eater (SCORE!  One more gouramande in the house is okay by us!)

 

11 Responses to “Introducing…”

  1. Wow!!! This is so awesome! God is so good!
    So happy for you 3 ♥

  2. Kysten Says:

    Words cannot define how incredibly excited I am for you and JD!!! God is so good and I can’t wait to meet your new son!!

  3. Sarah R. Says:

    yipee!! he is adorable! i will keep praying as you all transition. and if you need recommendations for books for boys just ask! we have plenty of that over here. 🙂

  4. Lisa Says:

    That’s so cool! It sounds like he’s only a few months older than Faith and Riette. Maybe they’ll be playing in tot spot together this spring!

  5. megan Says:

    my heart is overwhelmed with gratitude to the Lord for the way He has moved in your lives and for you to have this precious baby boy so soon! God is so good. You are in our prayers as you wait this last month. Let me say, the last month is always the hardest as you wait…so I’ll be praying for you big time. The Lord knows every single thing you need and will provide. I can’t wait to hear all the ways He shows up in this next month to knock your socks off! What a blessed little man he is going to be!

  6. RoseLemonade Says:

    Thanks everyone!!! Yes, I’m so excited for all the kids he can play with too!!! Basically I’m excited all around! Megan – actually I’m not having trouble at all waiting! I almost wish I had more time to get the room ready. But I know you’re never REALLY ready….

  7. Mandie Says:

    Chrissy soo happy for you and JD, I bet your heart is swelling. Keep us updated and your family expands. Look forward to lots of cute photos!

  8. Tina Says:

    I am just so happy for you and JD!! My Nana said she sits next to your Grandmom (Oma?) at church…I guess during the over 50’s Bible Study…and she was talking about Joshua and you guys! If you need anything at all, please let me know…I know we’re like 2,000+ miles away but I would love to help if I can. I’m also praying for you guys as you walk through this awesome journey!!!! Post more pics of Joshua when you can…he’s a cutie!!!

  9. Nancy Maley Says:

    Justine just told me that you called yesterday to say that you were moving forward with this little guy. I am so happy for you both! We’ll be continuing to pray that all goes well and that all three of you adjust.

  10. Charlotte Lee Says:

    He is just precious to see! It is a blessing on all who will be close to this adoption. What a joyous time in your lives! I will visit sometime this year with Mike & Kelly, although I don’t know when yet. I look forward visiting with you and JD and meeting your young son. Congratulations!

  11. Jim and Pam Says:

    Congratulations J.D. and Chrissy. We are very excited for you and can’t wait to meet this precious gift from God.


Leave a Reply

