Rose Lemonade

Bitter becomes beauty again…

Like a Glove (and a Jersey)… March 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — RoseLemonade @ 2:31 pm

Rhome is fitting into our family better than we’d ever dreamed!  I am still in awe that I’m a Mom, and I have a son… and he happens to be ADORABLE!  Am I allowed to say that?  Well, I said it, it’s out there… so there you have it.  I am in love with our little boy and I’m so glad how well he’s adjusting to us.  And somehow I thought I’d be able to track and record all the adjusting I’ve been doing but upon reflection I have to say I can’t.  I’m not sure how I adjusted… it doesn’t even feel like an adjustment.  It felt like for so many years I was awkwardly trying to adjust to not having him, and now that I do, everything just fell in place.

I have a small handful of friends that are able to pull out the pre-digested deeper things in me just by asking simple questions.  I have been very preoccupied with my job of transforming Rhome until someone (one of the aforementioned friends) asked me how the Lord was transforming me through this whole process.  I was a little ashamed I hadn’t even thought to wonder about it but with her I didn’t have to.  I just found myself telling her all about how my prayers have been so changed since he’s been in my life.  I an extremely analytical, much to my detriment and was always worried about how my prayers “sounded” or whether or not I really meant them.  Now that I’m training a child about the love of God, I encourage a lot of prayer between the two of us.  And, oddly (or not so oddly) enough, prayer with me is his favorite thing to do!  He asks to do it at least fifteen times a day…  And of course, prayers with a two-year old need to be simple, wrapping easy words around significant concepts.  Ever since we’ve been praying together, I’ve noticed I do a lot more time enjoying my conversations with God rather than studying them.  For me, this is a HUGE reason to be thankful – I’ve been struggling with it for years, feeling like Pierre in War and Peace when he told a friend:  “You study, you become enlightened.  I study I become confused” (P.S. I love all Russian literature but especially Tolstoy!  Little fact about me, the bookworm).

JD and I have been overwhelmed with joy to have family close by, who moved here early fall last year and I am praising God for the timing of their arrival.  Rhome has really taken to them, especially Sophia and Simon, his cousins.  Sophia is very doting on Rhome and has been a wonderful friend and avid teacher for him.  I hope he will acquire her zeal for learning – she’s remarkable!

We took some kites to Arbor Hills and had fun on the playground.

 

 

I just had to throw this one in here because I love how much he loves bathtime… and because I think he looks like a baby Obama.

Isn’t it obvious he is yelling, “Change!”

 

 

My Mom came out to visit us for a week and it was so good to have her here!  Rhome and she are now bonded for life.  Since she left he asks about her at least 10 times a day, pretends to call her at least five times a day, and we see random “imposter Nana” sightings at every store we visit.  One wonderful thing she brought with her was a Phillies Jersey for Rhome (hence the name of this post).  I guess he should have an Eagles Jersey too, because everyone who sees him insists he is going to be a linebacker.  I’d be happier rooting for a baseball player.  Not that he has to be into any sport but if we’re going to raise the issue let’s be real and admit baseball is the better of the two.  And please, ANYTHING but basketball!  I hate it!

Here’s some photos of us going to the Dallas Arboretum.  Baby LOVES the water!

 

 

I can only assuming he’s either praying that thing won’t bite him or he’s trying to show how strong he is… I’ll go with prayer.  🙂

 

The tulips were glorious!

 

My Mom “Nana” bought him a water play table for the backyard.

 

Ah – I just love this!!!

 

 

Nana also bought him a little scooter to ride on.  Once he got the hang of it, it was time to show off.

 

 

Last day we spent time at the park (forgive my excess of photos at this point, and I apologize again in advance because it doesn’t get any better from here)

 

 

 

On the way to the airport he insisted that Nana’s hand be on his car seat.  And he made sure it stayed there.

 

Happy Endings!

 

And tearful goodbyes.  😦

 

And I have to… there’s more videos.  😀

 

 

Caught ABC’s on camera.  This is his favorite thing to sing and we hear it NON-STOP.

 

 

Little man can dance!  This is the main reason he doesn’t get to bed on time.  Watching him is too much fun.

And if you’re wondering why he keeps going back to play with the phone, he’s checking to make sure Nana didn’t call.

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Like a Glove (and a Jersey)…”

  1. Bonnie Says:

    Oh my, Chrissy! Rhome really is adorable! I can’t wait to meet him in person. All the pictures are amazing. I don’t think I’ve said it before, so a huge congratulations to you on beginning the wonderful blessing that is the journey of motherhood. Praying for many, many wonderful memories for all of you in the years to come! Bonnie

  2. Kysten Says:

    Love, love, loving the Phillies shirt!!!! We will match one day 🙂
    Such a beautiful family indeed!!

  3. Lynne Says:

    Oh man! I keep watching these videos! Some thoughts. I love the pics of Rhome and Sophia holding hands. Sooo adorable! Don’t worry, he’ll be getting an Eagles jersey in due time. Right now it’s baseball season. Love the ABCs! And I guess the “yea” at the end isn’t dead, so cute!


Leave a Reply

